IOWA Magazine | 08-18-2021

Iowa Icons: Five Legendary Iowa Football Victories

2 minute read
In our Iowa Icons series, we’re celebrating the players, moments, and traditions that define Hawkeye football. Here, we highlight five of the most historic wins in Iowa history.

Oct. 8, 1921: Iowa 10, Notre Dame 7

Gordon Locke (24BA, 25JD) smashed in an early touchdown run, Aubrey Devine (22BA) kicked a field goal, and the Hawkeyes stopped Knute Rockne and visiting Notre Dame's 20-game winning streak on their way to an unbeaten season.

Football game in 1921 PHOTO: UI LIBRARIES UNIVERSITY ARCHIVES Iowa offensive lineman Duke Slater (helmetless on bottom) paves the way for ball carrier Gordon Locke during Iowa's 10-7 victory over Notre Dame on Oct. 8, 1921, in Iowa City.

Nov. 11, 1939: Iowa 7, Notre Dame 6

Nile Kinnick (40BA) scored on a 4-yard touchdown run—a play that's immortalized with a bronze relief in Kinnick Stadium—and booted a drop-kick extra point to stun the mighty Irish in a game in Iowa City that galvanized the legend of the Ironmen.

1957 football game PHOTO: FREDERICK W. KENT COLLECTION, UI LIBRARIES SPECIAL COLLECTIONS Nile Kinnick runs with the ball on Nov. 11, 1939, in Iowa City.

Jan. 1, 1957: Iowa 35, Oregon State 19

With more than 15,000 Iowa fans flocking to Pasadena for the team's first Rose Bowl appearance, the Hawkeyes trounced Oregon State behind quarterback Kenny Ploen (58BSCE), who was 9-for-10 passing and had an early 49-yard touchdown run.

1957 football game PHOTO: GETTY IMAGES Halfback Collins Hagler, who scored two touchdowns in Iowa's first Rose Bowl appearance, carries the ball in the win over Oregon State on Jan. 1, 1957, in Pasadena, California.

Oct. 19, 1985: Iowa 12, Michigan 10

In an unforgettable No. 1-versus-No. 2 showdown billed as the biggest game ever played at Kinnick Stadium, Rob Houghtlin (87BA) kicked a 29-yard field goal as time expired, sending the top-ranked Hawkeyes past the Wolverines.

Haughtlin's boots the winning field goal PHOTO: COURTESY HAWKEYESPORTS.COM Rob Houghtlin boots the winning field goal to lift No. 1 Iowa over No. 2 Michigan on Oct. 19, 1985, in Iowa City.

Jan. 1, 2005: Iowa 30, LSU 25

Quarterback Drew Tate (08BA) heaved a prayer to fifth-year receiver Warren Holloway (04BA) for the one and only touchdown reception of his career—a 56-yard scoring strike on the game's final play remembered as the Capital Catch. The play lifted Iowa to a stunning win over Nick Saban's LSU team in the Capital One Bowl.

Capital Catch PHOTO: COURTESY HAWKEYESPORTS.COM Iowa receiver Warren Holloway catches a 56-yard touchdown on the final play to win the Capital One Bowl on Jan. 1, 2005, in Orlando, Florida.

Join our email list
Get the latest news and information for alumni, fans, and friends of the University of Iowa.
Related Articles

We use cookies to understand how you use our site and to improve your experience. By continuing to use our site, you accept our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Statement unless you have disabled them in your browser.