IOWA Alumni Magazine | December 2014
Class Notes December 2014

* Denotes membership in the UI Alumni Association.


Emily J. Ambrosy, 11BA, 14MS, is a transportation planner for West Central Initiative, a regional community foundation in Fergus Falls, Minnesota.

Timothy L. Brown, 14MBA, is director of project management for North American operations at Packaging Coordinators (PCI) in Philadelphia.

Ellen M. Cyrier*, 12BA, is an artist, tennis pro, and personal trainer with the LifeStart Wellness Network in Oak Brook, Illinois.

Peter A. Neel, 11BFA, a visual artist in Ames, Iowa, recently opened an online store.

Matthew A. Uhlman*, 13MBA, is a urology resident at the University of Iowa Hospitals and Clinics in Iowa City.


Jennifer L. Croft, 03MFA, a writer, translator, and critic based in Buenos Aires, Argentina, recently received a Literature Translation Fellowship from the National Endowment for the Arts.

Susana B. Goldman*, 06BA, is a librarian for the Alamance County Public Libraries in Burlington, North Carolina.

Amos E. Hill, 06BBA, an associate with the Whitfield & Eddy law firm in Des Moines, is a member of the American Bar Association Young Lawyers Division Affiliate team, co-chair of the Polk County Young Lawyers Division, and president of the Iowa State Bar Association Young Lawyers' Division.

Jonathan E. Killpack, 03BA, co-founder of Engaging Cultures Travel, hosts a "Jordan Insider" tour that has been selected as one of National Geographic Travelers magazine's 2014 "50 Tours of a Lifetime."

Ashleigh E. O'Connell, 06BBA, an associate with the Whitfield & Eddy law firm in Des Moines, has been named to the Greater Des Moines Leadership Institute Community Leadership Program class of 2014-15.


Nicole C. Barnes*, 94BA, is senior director of business strategy and communications for the RTI International development group in Research Triangle Park, North Carolina.

Keith M. Chiavetta*, 99BA, is president and chief executive officer of Chiavetta Management Advisors in Iowa City and entrepreneur in residence for the UI's John Pappajohn Entrepreneurial Center and Bedell Entrepreneurship Learning Laboratory.

Terrance J. Goodell*, 91BA, 92MA, is a counseling supervisor and team leader with the Cedar Rapids Vet Center.

Peggy E. Kozal, 98BA, is a senior counsel with the Husch Blackwell law firm in Denver, Colorado.

Travis J. Leo*, 98BBA, is chief executive officer of Residential Systems, a home technology provider in Lakewood, Colorado.


Mark J. Bennett*, 81BS, is director of risk technology at Bank of America-Merrill Lynch in Chicago and a faculty member in the analytics graduate program at the University of Chicago.

Susan E. Bennett*, 88BM, 92JD, is executive vice president and general counsel of Information Resources, a solutions and services provider for health care companies in Chicago.

James C. Dickerson III*, 83BGS, a PGA teaching professional at the UI Finkbine Golf Course in Iowa City and the PGA director of instruction for the Golf for Injured Veterans Everywhere (GIVE) Foundation in Riverside, Iowa, has received the 2014 Patriot Award from the PGA of America.

Scott W. Friestad*, 83BBA, 86JD, associate director of the enforcement division for the U.S. Securities and Exchange Commission in Washington, DC, has been named one of the "100 Most Influential People in Business Ethics" by Ethisphere magazine.

Mark C. Ginsberg*, 80BA, owner and president of the M.C. Ginsberg jewelry and design company in Iowa City, recently joined the local U.S. Bank board.


Richard G. Hardy*, 75BA, a partner with the Ulmer & Berne law firm in Cleveland, has been recognized by Best Lawyers in America as a 2015 Lawyer of the Year.

Claudia Rickert Isom*, 72BS, a circuit judge in Tampa and a committee member of the Florida Supreme Court and Florida Bar, recently received the state bar's 2014 William M. Hoeveler Judicial Professionalism Award.

Patrick J. Kenney, 78BA, 79MA, 83PhD, professor of political science, founding director of the School of Politics and Global Studies, and director of the Institute for Social Science Research at Arizona State University in Phoenix, is now the school's vice provost and dean of the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences.

Paul J. McAndrew Jr.*, 79BA, 83JD, an attorney in Coralville, has been named a member of the National Academy of Social Insurance.

Michael D. Moore*, 70BA, president and chief executive officer at United Presbyterian Home in Washington, Iowa, recently received the 2014 Dr. Herbert Shore Outstanding Mentor Award from LeadingAge, a national association for nonprofit aging-services organizations.


Earl E. Fitz*, 68BA, 70MA, a professor of Spanish, Portuguese, and comparative literature at Vanderbilt University in Nashville, Tennessee, recently received the International Association of Inter-American Studies' inaugural prize for best essay.

Terry N. Fleener*, 63BSME, an early leader of several regional rugby organizations across the country, has been inducted into the U.S. Rugby Hall of Fame.

Eleanor I. Watanakunakorn*, 64MS, recently received an honorary degree from Northeast Ohio Medical University in Rootstown, Ohio, for her philanthropic efforts on behalf of the university.

Howard W. Wolvington, 69MS, is the Federal Aviation Administration's 2014 National Certified Flight Instructor of the Year.


Dale M. Cleland*, 58BM, 59MA, is conductor and musical director of the Lake Oswego (Oregon) Millennium Concert Band, which received the prestigious 2013 John Phillip Sousa Sudler Silver Scroll Award, and Rosemary Hansen Cleland*, 58BM, is a trumpet player in the concert band.

Milo Hamilton*, 50BA, is a sports announcer and advisor to the owner of the Houston Astros.


Marion Pickering Couch*, 44BA, 47MA, recently received the American Heart Association's first Martin E. Simmons Award for her support of the organization and for creating the Nashville Heart Gala fundraiser event.

Join our email list
Get the latest news and information for alumni, fans, and friends of the University of Iowa.
Join our email list
Get the latest news and information for alumni, fans, and friends of the University of Iowa.
Related Articles

We use cookies to understand how you use our site and to improve your experience. By continuing to use our site, you accept our use of cookies in accordance with our Privacy Statement unless you have disabled them in your browser.